Published Articles
Fake Domain Buyer Scam: Brand Domain Name Services LLC
Today, I, a fresh domainer from China, was happy to receive an email asking about one of my domain names. But it turned out to be POSSIBLY a domain buyer scam. Here are the tricks I can SEE:
1. Email Subject as “re: example.com (my domain)”. I didn’t contacted you through email entitled ” example.com”, where did the hell “RE:” come out?
2. Email content body as:
Hello,
We are going to purchase your domain name.
Our company is in hosting and domain name business.
Please email us your desired price in USD or euros for the domain name in the subject line.
If you have other names for sale please email us your domains with prices.
Looking forward to doing business with you.
Regards,
Andy Muller
President
Brand Domain Name Services LLC
========================================================
NOTICE – This communication may contain confidential and privileged
information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
and deleting it from your computer.
========================================================
Sorry, I don’t respond these days to emails that do didn’t claim a offer NUMBER.
3. Whois
The email of the buyer is muller@brandnameservice.com
Afer a whois check of brandnameservice.com , OMG, did your company established just a little more than TWO months ago?
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: BRANDNAMESERVICE.COM
Created on: 19-Jul-11
Expires on: 19-Jul-12
Last Updated on: 19-Jul-11
4. Forward of BRANDNAMESERVICE.COM (A) to another website named webhostingclue.com (B)
Possibility One: B owns A, and the owner of B is the buyer from A, both two of whom is the same cheater guy. Shame on B too.
Possibility Two: A is screwing B up.
5. Clues from Google (see blog post here) suggest that it’s typically a domain appraisal scam.
What we need to do?
Ignore the email and label it as spam for the good of the community. Write a post, let more domainers be noticed.
Comments (1)

I also got an offer from him and after i wrote an appraisal from xxx.com i got this answer:
Thank you. I accept your valuation. It’s very professional and reasonable.
Unfortunately, our client has bought a big package recently and does not
have enough money to buy your domain right now. He is asking to wait for 1-2
months.
If we buy the domain direct from you we won’t be able to transfer it for two
months due to ICAAN rule. This rule prohibits reselling during two months
after purchasing.
Of course, we will do our best to force our buyer to buy as soon as
possible. But I suggest you not to reserve the domain for one month. Why
wait? I’m sure we
can resell your domain to other buyers. We have several potential buyers for
your name. If you agree with to pay us 15% commission upon every
sale we will start tomorrow.
I wrote about reselling in first emails. The buyer will pay 85% to you and
15% to me.If this sale fails I will look for other buyers. I’ve already
bought opt-in lists to promote your domains. I invested about $150 in these
opt-in lists.
I’m going to use your valuation in my promotio? Is it ok with you?
We should use escrow.com or other reliable service for escrow and transfer.
For example, if you list domains with xxx.com
we
can avoid the brokerage fee (10% at Sedo.com). They don’t charge commission
upon
sale and offers free escrow. So we can save up to 10%-15%.
Let me know what you think about my offer. I’m very interested in doing
business with you.